National Examinations 2020 

Assessment period Exam

Application period

Exam date period Results released

Assessment period 1

PA written


PA recertification


 

   

 

 

 

   

 PA clinical

  

  

  

  

 

Monday, 11 November 2019

 

Sunday, 24 November 2019

Thursday, 16 January 2020

  


 

Wednesday, 29 January 2020

Thursday, 30 January 2020

Thursday, 6 February 2020

Friday, 7 February 2020

Tuesday, 11 February 2020

Wednesday, 12 February 2020

Thursday, 13 February 2020

Friday, 14 February 2020

Thursday, 12 March 2020

Assessment period 2

PA written


PA recertification


PA clinical

 

 

 

Monday, 16 March 2020

Sunday, 29 March 2020

Thursday, 7 May 2020

 


 

Wednesday, 20 May 2020

Thursday, 21 May 2020

Friday, 22 May 2020

Thursday, 18 June 2020
Assessment period 3

PA written


PA recertification


 

 

 PA clinical

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

Monday, 29 June 2020

Sunday, 12 July 2020

Thursday, 10 September 2020

 


 

Thursday, 17 September 2020

Friday, 18 September 2020

Tuesday, 22 September 2020

Wednesday, 23 September 2020

Thursday, 24 September 2020

Friday, 25 September 2020

Wednesday, 30 September 2020

Thursday, 1 October 2020

Thursday, 29 October 2020

January 2020

Application Period: 11-24  November 2019
Results Release: 12 March 2020 

The national examination fee is £550; PA national written examination fee is £175, PA national OSCE examination fee is £375. The RCP assessment unit reserves the right to review the examination fees periodically.

How do I register for the national examinations? 

All candidates must register online for the physician associate certification exam and the physician associate recertification exam. The registration link will open approximately two months prior to component 1 written exam.

Please register for the PA certification examination via the following link

PA National Certification Exam January and February 2020

Please register for the PA recertification examination via the following link:

PA National Recertification Exam – January 2020

Registration closes at 23:59 GMT on 24 November 2019. Late applications will not be accepted. 

Candidates that need to re-sit one component of the exam must complete the registration form and select the appropriate component.

Please note registration for an exam is not confirmed until the RCP assessment unit receives official notification from each university that a candidate has completed the mandatory requirements of the university’s programme and is therefore eligible to sit the national exam. Any candidate who is not eligible for the national examination will have their application withdrawn and any examination fees paid refunded. Payment links for each component will be sent out separately to candidates once the application period has closed. 

Please complete all sections of the registration form. An automated email receipt will not be sent, email confirmation will be sent separately within one business day of your application being submitted. 

Where are the exams held?
The written exam is held in a number of locations across the United Kingdom. These locations are decided based on projected graduating numbers given to us from universities. The RCP assessment unit cannot guarantee candidates will be offered their first-choice venue, but we will offer an alternative venue where applicable. The OSCE exams are held at RCP North, Liverpool . Candidates may be allocated to any of the advertised dates during the assessment period they apply for. Allocated OSCE dates will be allocated to candidates as soon as possible once eligibility is confirmed by universities.

How do I withdraw from the exam?
Requests for withdrawal from an examination should be made in writing to [email protected] 

Can I defer my registration to another exam sitting?
No, exam registration cannot be deferred to a later date, and  payment cannot be carried over to a future exam. Candidates unable to take the exam will need to request a withdrawal from the exam, and then re-apply for the desired sitting of the exam when the appropriate application period opens. Refunds will be provided upon receipt of the appropriate medical evidence to support a candidate’s withdrawal request.