Registration for the September 2022 Physician Associate national examination diet will open on Monday 27 June 2022.

For those due to sit at the next diet, where necessary, any changes or amendments that are made to the national examinations will be communicated to candidates via email as far in advance of any examination day as possible. It is therefore important that candidates provide an up to date and accessible email address when registering and contact the Assessment Unit if these details change.

We remain committed to ensuring spaces are available to all candidates who are eligible to sit the PA national examination.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Assessment Unit if you have any queries at [email protected] 

 

 

How do I register for the national examinations?

All candidates must register online for the physician associate certification exam and the physician associate recertification exam. The registration link will open approximately two months prior to component 1 written exam.

Candidates that need to re-sit one component of the exam must complete the registration form and select the appropriate component.

Please note registration for an exam is not confirmed until the RCP assessment unit receives official notification from each university that a candidate has completed the mandatory requirements of the university’s programme and is therefore eligible to sit the national exam. Any candidate who is not eligible for the national examination will have their application withdrawn and any examination fees paid refunded. Payment links for each component will be sent out separately to candidates once the application period has closed. 

Please complete all sections of the registration form. An automated email receipt will not be sent, email confirmation will be sent separately within one business day of your application being submitted. 

Fees

Please be aware that from September 2021, the national examination fees will be:

Examination type

Examination fee

Jan-22

May-22

Sep-22

PA certification examination (written)

£230

£230

£265

PA clinical examination (OSCE)

£455

£455

£525

TOTAL

£685

£685

£790

 

For further information on the new fees can be found here

The recertification fee is £275

The RCP assessment unit reserves the right to review the examination fees periodically.

 

National Certification and Recertification Examination Dates 2022/23

ExamApplication periodExam date periodResults released

PA written


PA recertification

Monday 14 March 2022

Sunday 27 March 2022

Thursday 5 May 2022

Thursday 16 June 2022

 PA Clinical

Monday 14 March 2022

Sunday 27 March 2022

Tuesday 17 May 2022 to Friday 20 May 2022

Thursday 16 June 2022

PA written


PA recertification

Monday 27 June 2022

Sunday 10 July 2022

Thursday 8 September 2022

Thursday 3 November 2022

 PA Clinical

Monday 27 June 2022 Sunday 10 July 2022 Tuesday 20 September 2022 to Thursday 6 October 2022 Thursday 3 November 2022

PA written


PA recertification

Monday 7 November 2022

Sunday 20 November 2022

Tuesday 12 January 2023

Thursday 2 March 2023

PA Clinical

Monday 7 November 2022

Sunday 20 November 2022

Tuesday 24 January 2023 to Friday 3 February 2023

Thursday 2 March 2023

PA written


PA recertification

Monday 13 March 2023

Sunday 26 March 2023

Thursday 4 May 2023

Thursday 15 June 2023

PA Clinical

Monday 13 March 2023

Sunday 26 March 2023

Tuesday 16 May 2023 to Friday 19 May 2023

Thursday 15 June 2023

PA written


PA recertification


Monday 26 June 2023

Sunday 9 July 2023

Thursday 7 September 2023

Thursday 2 November 2023

 PA Clinical

Monday 26 June 2023

Sunday 9 July 2023

Tuesday 19 September 2023 to Thursday 5 October 2023

Thursday 2 November 2023

* candidates may be allocated to any weekday during the clinical assessment period, and should take this into consideration before submitting their application.

Frequently Asked Questions